What were the European countries in 1914?

The Alliances in 1914 Germany and Austria-Hungary had been close for a half century. Each agreed to support the other in case of war. The addition of Italy (despite its tensions with Austria-Hungary) formed the Triple Alliance. On the other side, France broke its isolation by allying with Russia.

How many countries are there in Europe in 1914?

World War I involved 32 nations from 1914 to 1919. It redrew the world map and reshaped many borders in Europe. The collapse of the Russian Empire created Poland, the Baltics, and Finland. The Austro-Hungarian Empire dissolved into Austria, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, and Yugoslavia.

How many countries were there in 1914?

Over 30 nations declared war between 1914 and 1918. The majority joined on the side of the Allies, including Serbia, Russia, France, Britain, Italy and the United States.

What were the five powerful countries in Europe in 1914?

In this lesson there are 11 resources on the Great Powers of Europe in 1914. Interesting fact files on Austria-Hungary, Germany, Britain, France and Russia which look at their leaders, problems, aims and ambitions.

What countries and empires were part of Europe in 1914 that no longer existed in 1919?

List the countries and empires that were part of Europe in 1914 that no longer existed in 1919. 3. List all of the new countries displayed on the 1919 map that were present during 1914. Austria, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, Moldova, Poland, E….

  • Poland.
  • Czechoslovakia.
  • Austria.
  • Hungary.
  • Belarus.
  • Ukraine.
  • Estonia.
  • Latvia.

What countries were the main superpowers in Europe in 1914?

Central Powers, World War I coalition that consisted primarily of the German Empire and Austria-Hungary, the “central” European states that were at war from August 1914 against France and Britain on the Western Front and against Russia on the Eastern Front.

Who lost ww1?

The war pitted the Central Powers—mainly Germany, Austria-Hungary, and Turkey—against the Allies—mainly France, Great Britain, Russia, Italy, Japan, and, from 1917, the United States. It ended with the defeat of the Central Powers.

What countries did not exist after ww1?

After the end of World War I in 1918, Bohemia, Moravia and Slovakia were combined in Central Europe to form Czechoslovakia. From 1939 to 1945, it was partially incorporated into Nazi Germany and ceased to exist as a state, though its government-in-exile remained in operation.