What is the Varnasrama dharma system?

The Varna system mingled with the four Ashramas of one’s life on the path of dharma becomes the Varnashrama Dharma. In Hindu society this dharma was divided into four different groups of people who pursued four different dharmas in their life to attain the ultimate goal of their life, i.e. realisation of god.

What is the concept of Varnashrama?

Varnashrama dharma or varna-ashram dharma is the Vedic system of the Goals of life, Social divisions and Stages of life and one is encouraged to strive for a balance and harmony of all the four goals and not to neglect one in favour of the others.

What is Varnashrama Vyavastha?

• Hindu society divided into two coordinated systems of social organisation 1) Whole human life divided into four stages ‘ashramas’ 2) Whole society divided into four strata-varnas • Ashrama dharma to regulate individual’s social life • To organise and management of individual and society • These two schemes together …

What are some examples of the common dharma?

Dharma and law Common examples of such use are pitri dharma (meaning a person’s duty as a father), putra dharma (a person’s duty as a son), raj dharma (a person’s duty as a king) and so forth. In Hindu philosophy, justice, social harmony, and happiness requires that people live per dharma.

What is the dharma of a Vaishya?

As part of the cosmic order of dharma, they have been assigned the role of merchants and craftspeople. Vaisyas are described in the Laws of Manu (a Hindu sacred book) as being given at creation the duties to tend cattle, bestow gifts, offer sacrifices, trade, lend money, cultivate land, and study the Vedas.

What is the importance of dharma?

Dharma serves as guidance or a rule for the Hindu followers. It is the complete rule of life; it is not just a religious law but also addresses behaviors, everyday rituals and ethics. Dharma is the very foundation of life in Hinduism and is the law of being without which things cannot exist.

What are the four stages in the concept of Varnashrama?

The four ashramas are: Brahmacharya (student), Grihastha (householder), Vanaprastha (forest walker/forest dweller), and Sannyasa (renunciate). The Ashrama system is one facet of the Dharma concept in Hinduism.

What is dharma example?

Dharma is a word without direct translation, but implies ‘religion,’ ‘duty,’ and ‘righteousness. The concept behind Dharma is anything that upholds or sustains a positive order. For example, an individual, a family, a community, a nation and the universe all help uphold order.

When does varnashrama dharma give rise to Ashramas?

When this order of society is intertwined with the four orders of life or the ashramas, i.e. Brahmacharya or the student life, Grihastha or the householder’s life, Vanaprastha or the retired life and Sanyasa or the devotional life, it gives rise to the Varnashrama dharma.

Who are the four varnas in the Dharma shastras?

The varna system is extensively discussed in the Dharma-shastras. The Varna system in Dharma-shastras divides society into four varnas (Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishya and Shudras). Those who fall out of this system because of their grievous sins are ostracised as outcastes (untouchables) and considered outside the varna system.

What does the word Varna mean in Hinduism?

Varṇa ( Sanskrit: वर्ण, romanized : varṇa ), a Sanskrit word with several meanings including type, order, colour, or class, was used to refer to social classes in Hindu texts like the Manusmriti. These and other Hindu texts classified the society in principle into four varnas:

Which is the first reference to Varna sadharana dharma?

He has also talked about Varna Sadharana Dharma which included those dharmas which would have been common to the people of all the four varnas. The first reference to the Varnashrama system is made in Purush Sukta verses of the Rig Veda (book 10, hymn 90) where the different sections of the society are regarded as the limbs of the great self.