Who is the richest region in Ethiopia?

Amhara Region
Amhara is the site of the largest inland body of water in Ethiopia, Lake Tana (which is the source of the Blue Nile), and of Semien Mountains National Park (which includes Ras Dashan, the highest point in Ethiopia)….Amhara Region.

Amhara Region አማራ ክልል
Country Ethiopia
Capital Bahir Dar
• President Agegnehu Teshager

How many zones are in southern Ethiopia?

SNNPR is divided into 14 ethnic-based Zones and four Special Woredas, which are accountable to the Regional Council, and within 131 woredas, and 3,926 kebeles.

How many zones are there in SNNPR?

15 zones
SNNPR is one of the 11 regions of Ethiopia with over 16 million or 20% of the country’s population. It has 15 zones and 7 special woredas.

What is the capital city of SNNPR?

city of Hawassa
Addis Abeba, October 18/2019 -The ongoing meeting by the Council of the Southern Nations, Nationalities and People’s Regional State (SNNPRS) approved a legal framework document which makes the city of Hawassa, currently the capital city of SNNPRS, accountable to the future Sidama Regional State (RST), DW Amharic …

Who is the richest man in Ethiopia 2020?

1. Mohammed Al Amoudi Controls gold mines and massive tracts of fertile lands that were handed to him by Meles Zenawi, after their owners were kicked out and displaced. Estimated net worth: $10 billion.

Which region is largest in Ethiopia?

In August 2013, the Ethiopian Central Statistics Agency projected the 2017 population of Oromia as 35,467,001; making it the largest regional state by population….Oromia.

Oromia Oromiyaa
• President Shimelis Abdisa (Oromo Democratic Party)
• Total 353,690 km2 (136,560 sq mi)
Area rank 1st

How many regions does Ethiopia have?

10 regions
Regions of Ethiopia

Regions and chartered cities of Ethiopia
Category Federation
Location Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Created 1992
Number 10 regions, 2 chartered cities (as of 2020)

How many Woreda are there in Ethiopia?

The national regional states as well as the two cities administrative councils are further divided in eight hundred woredas and around 15,000 kebeles. Ethiopia covers 1,119,683 square kilometres with the population of 96.6 million (2013 est.), of which more than 84 percent live in rural areas.

How many regions are in Ethiopia?

There are ten regional states and two chartered cities, the latter being the country’s capital Addis Ababa, and Dire Dawa, which was chartered in 2004….Regions of Ethiopia.

Regions and chartered cities of Ethiopia
Location Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Created 1992
Number 10 regions, 2 chartered cities (as of 2020)

How many countries and nationalities are in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia’s population is highly diverse, containing over 80 different ethnic groups. Most people in Ethiopia speak Afro-Asiatic languages, mainly of the Cushitic and Semitic branches. The former includes the Oromo and Somali, and the latter includes the Amhara and Tigray.